2007 Bay Ball Classic Champions Rice (NY)

Rice used their pressure defense to set the tone in the championship game. They jumped out to a 19 to 7 lead after the 1st quarter. Their defense forced 21 turnovers in the game.

The guards from Caravel just didn’t handle the intense pressure that Rice plays with from start to finish. This game got out of hand quickly and Caravel never really made a run to get back into the game.

Rice went in at the half with a 41 to 21 point lead and came out strong in the 2nd half to increase their lead by the end of the 3rd quarter to 61 to 33.

The 4th quarter saw Rice put in their reserves since the game had been decided for a long time.

This makes two titles in a 2 week span for Rice (NY) they won their Division of Iolani Prep Classic Tournament in Hawaii.  

The standout players for Rice were Kemba Walker who finished with 20 points, 6 rebounds and 4 steals. Chris Fouch scored 17 points on 6-9 shooting. Durand Scott finished with 12 points, 5 rebounds and 7 assists.

The standout players for Caravel were Tyler Niggebrugge who finished with 10 points and 2 steals. Dominic Morris finished with 9 points and 7 rebounds. Erique Gumbs totaled 7 points and 7 rebounds.